SA's Best of Wine Tourism award winners announced

23 September, 2016

Seven South Australian businesses from four different wine regions have been named winners of the Best of Wine Tourism awards as part of Adelaide’s membership to the Great Wine Capitals Global Network.

The South Australian award winners are:

  • Accommodation: The Louise (Barossa)
  • Architecture and Landscape: Primo Estate (McLaren Vale)
  • Art and Culture: Seppeltsfield Estate (Barossa)
  • Innovative Wine Tourism Experience: Banrock Station (Riverland)
  • Wine Tourism Restaurants: Skillogalee (Clare Valley)
  • Sustainable Wine Tourism Practices: Kalleske Wines (Barossa)
  • Wine Tourism Services: Seppeltsfield Estate (Barossa)

The awards recognise leadership, innovation and excellence in wine tourism.

Each of the South Australian award recipients will now go on to represent Australia in the international awards program with a final winner from each great wine capital to be announced in Porto, Portugal in November.

Quotes attributable to the Minister Agriculture, Food and Fisheries and Minister for Tourism Leon Bignell

The great thing about Adelaide’s membership of the Great Wine Capitals Global Network is we are fortunate to be able to recognise all of South Australia’s 18 wine regions within this membership.

It is fantastic to see winners from four regions represented, and next year we hope to see even more.

The local awards program not only celebrates our leading wine tourism businesses but also presents a platform for wineries to benchmark themselves against international best practice.

I congratulate all those who entered the awards for their dedication and important contribution to regional food, wine and tourism in South Australia.

South Australia's wine industry generates almost $1.8 billion in revenue, with $1.2 billion of this from wine exports to countries including the United Kingdom, China and Hong Kong, the US and Canada.

Around eighty per cent of Australia’s premium wine comes from South Australia – and through our membership to the Great Wine Capitals Global Network, we’re rightfully boasting our position on the international stage.

Quotes attributable to the Chair of the South Australian Best of Wine Tourism Judging Panel Karen Raffen

The winners represent the best of SA’s wine tourism businesses – they’re outstanding in their field and are leading in their respective award categories.

The inaugural awards program shines a spotlight on the best from our state and allows them to stand alongside some of the world’s most prestigious and well-known wine operators from around the globe.


On 1 July, Adelaide, South Australia officially became a member of the Great Wine Capitals Global Network, a group of major cities linked to internationally renowned wine regions. Adelaide’s membership was formally recognised at a ceremony in Mainz, Germany on 21 June.

The existing members of this prestigious network are Bilbao / Rioja (Spain), Bordeaux (France), Cape Town (South Africa), Mainz-Rheinhessen (Germany), Mendoza (Argentina), Porto (Portugal), San Francisco / Napa Valley (USA) and Valparaìso / Casablanca Valley (Chile). These regions voted unanimously for Adelaide, South Australia to become a Great Wine Capital.

Further information on Adelaide’s membership of the Great Wine Capitals Global Network is available from